South Devon Railway

The South Devon Railway is 6.64 miles (10.69 km) long and can be found on the former Great Western Railway branch between Totnes Riverside and Buckfastleigh in South Devon. It runs alongside the River Dart and has three stations.It was first opened in 1872 and closed in 1962. It reopened as a heritage railway in 1969.

Below you will see a collection of South Devon Railway photographs which also includes visiting locos.

This gallery was last updated on the 7th September 2019. The first photograph in the gallery is the latest one to be added. Please click the thumbnail for a larger image and it’s information.

The current steam and diesel trains on the South Devon Railway are:

Steam Trains

GWR 4-6-0 no: 4920 ‘Dumbleton Hall’
GWR 2-8-0 no: 3803
GWR 2-6-2T no: 5526
GWR 0-6-0T no: 5786 (running as L.92)
GWR 0-6-0T no: 1369
GWR 0-4-2T no: 1420
GWR 0-6-0 no: 3205
GWR 0-6-0T no: 6412

Diesel Trains

Class 04 no: D2246
Class 09 no: 09010 (D3721)
Class 25 no: D7535
Class 25 no: D7541
Class 25 no: D7612
Class 33 no: 33002 (D6501)
Class 50 no: 50002
Class 121 no: W55000

error: Content is protected !!